Government of Canada recognition of 2022 Emergency Management Exemplary Service Award Recipients

“The emergency management community plays an essential role in the safety and security of Canadians every day. They work selflessly to save lives, to protect our property and our environment, and to build resilience in our communities”

Public Safety Canada

The Emergency Management Exemplary Service Award continues to be a prestigious recognition awarded by Public Safety Canada that is delivered collaboratively between provincial, territorial and federal government and recognizes recipients who have achieved excellence in their respective fields.

Across Canada, there are many deserving individuals and groups working on emergency management through community-based volunteers, employees in all levels of government in emergency management organizations, and in Indigenous communities with awards being granted in five categories:

  • Resilient Communities;
  • Search and Rescue Volunteers;
  • Search and Rescue Employees;
  • Youth; and
  • Outstanding Contribution to Emergency Management

Last Friday, the achievements of 124 remarkable individuals were recognized, representing a variety of professions and disciplines in the emergency management community: from emergency management professionals and volunteers across all levels of government to leaders from Indigenous communities, non-governmental organizations, youth, academia and professional associations.

Search and Rescue volunteer and employee recipients who proudly attended the award ceremony hosted by The Honourable Minister of Emergency Preparedness Harjit Sajjan and P.E.I Public Safety Minister Bloyce Thompson in Ottawa, and included individuals affiliated with:

We would like to formally congratulate all award recipients and nominees including SARVAC members, local SAR teams, volunteers and employees alike for their contributions to providing exceptional service and achievement for work to prevent, prepare for, respond to and recover from emergencies and disasters.For more information on the EMESA Award program and information on each of the award recipients, please visit the Emergency Management Exemplary Service Award Recipients release here.